

Brett W. Ligon District Attorney Montgomery County 9th Judicial District 207 W. Phillips St. Conroe, TX 77301

PRESS RELEASE: 4/11/2024

Media Contact: First Assistant Mike Holley (936) 539-7800



Vehicular Crimes Chief Prosecutor Taylor Vanegas:

"In Montgomery County, we are blessed to have some of the very best DWI officers, vehicular crimes investigators, and community partners. These award recipients represent a united effort to continue making Montgomery County one of the safest places to live."

District Attorney Brett Ligon:

"The citizens of Montgomery County deserve to be able to travel our roadways without the fear that they may not make it home safely. To that end, we will continue to make the detection, investigation, and prosecution of impaired drivers a top priority."

Montgomery County District Attorney Hosts Annual Vehicular Crimes Awards

On April 11, 2024, the Montgomery County District Attorney's Office hosted the 2023 Vehicular Crimes Awards. This awards ceremony honored law enforcement officers and agencies, as well as community partners, who made exceptional contributions to combat impaired driving in Montgomery County in 2023.

During the presentation, the following individuals and organizations received awards and honorable mentions:

DWI Officer of the Year

Deputy Joseph O'Neill – Montgomery County Sheriff's Office

This award recognizes an officer that has gone above and beyond the normal call of duty to protect the public from intoxicated drivers. Conroe PD Officer Stephen Carni and Splendora PD Corporal Ronnie Culberth received honorable mentions in this category.

DWI Agency of the Year

Splendora Police Department

This award recognizes an agency that makes enforcement of impaired driving a priority, dedicates resources to vehicular investigations, and implements programs to raise awareness about impaired driving and increased enforcement efforts. Magnolia PD and Precinct 4 Constable's Office received honorable mentions in this category.

Investigator of the Year

Sgt. Ethan McAdoo - Texas Department of Public Safety

This award recognizes an officer who has performed exceptionally in vehicular crimes investigations involving serious bodily injury or death. The Conroe PD crash unit (Sgt. Andres Garcia, Officer Allan Bell, and Officer Steve Hurd) received honorable mentions in this category.

Public Service Award

Milstead Automotive

This award recognizes a non-law enforcement individual, organization, or business that has made a substantial contribution to impaired driving enforcement efforts or vehicular crimes investigations.